Best eSIM for Japan

Ubigi is the best eSIM for Japan for most trips. It uses NTT Docomo and KDDI (au), two of Japan's three big networks, and 10 GB for 30 days costs about $16.50. That's roughly $1.65 a day on a 10-day trip, against $120 for your carrier's day pass.

If you buy through a button here, the provider pays me a commission. Your price stays the same.

10 days of data in Japan, two waysPrices checked Oct 15, 2026

Your carrier's day pass AT&T or Verizon, $12 a day

Total $120.00

Ubigi eSIM 10 GB, 30 days

One planfor the whole trip, installed at home

Total $16.50

You keep $103.50

A day pass starts the first time your phone uses data abroad.

The 5 best eSIMs for Japan, compared

All five work on an unlocked iPhone or Android phone and leave your US number alone. Find the line that sounds like your trip.

Prices for
  1. UbigiBest overall

    My pick

    Plan10 GB, 30 dayson Docomo, KDDI

    Price$16.50

    Per day$1.65

    Take it for most trips, cities or countryside. Users report a Japanese IP, so local apps see you in Japan.

    Get Ubigi for Japan

    What you actually get with Ubigi network, hotspot, refunds
    Full speed per day
    All 10 GB at full speed, no daily cap
    Hotspot
    Allowed, with no separate cap stated
    Connection appears from
    Japan reported by users. Ping is higher than on a local SIM.
    If your trip changes
    Not stated by Ubigi
    Network
    NTT Docomo and KDDI (au). Ubigi's store page also lists SoftBank
    5G
    On compatible phones. Some users only got 4G

    From Ubigi's Japan plan page and blog, and user reviews on esimdb, read Oct 15, 2026.

  2. NomadCheapest 10 GB, and the big plans

    Plan10 GB, 30 dayson KDDI, SoftBank

    Price$16.00

    Per day$1.60

    Take it to save 50 cents on 10 GB, or for its 50 GB plan at $35.00 to share with a laptop.

    Get Nomad for Japan

    What you actually get with Nomad network, hotspot, refunds
    Full speed per day
    All 10 GB at full speed. On Nomad's unlimited plan, 2 GB a day
    Hotspot
    Allowed
    Connection appears from
    Not stated by Nomad
    If your trip changes
    Not stated by Nomad
    Network
    KDDI (au) and SoftBank. Plans over 10 GB use KDDI only
    5G
    Yes, where the network has it

    From Nomad's Japan page and blog, Oct 15, 2026.

  3. AiraloBest for a short trip

    Plan10 GB, 15 dayson SoftBank +1

    Price$17.50

    Per day$1.75

    Take it for three to seven days, from 1 GB for 3 days at $4.00. Refunds come as Airmoney credit.

    Get Airalo for Japan

    What you actually get with Airalo network, hotspot, refunds
    Full speed per day
    All 10 GB at full speed. On the unlimited plan, 3 GB a day, then 1 Mbps
    Hotspot
    Not stated by Airalo
    Connection appears from
    Singapore reported by several users, so a non-Japanese IP and a higher ping. One user saw a US IP.
    If your trip changes
    Airmoney, Airalo's in-app credit, not cash
    Network
    SoftBank and one other Japanese network
    5G
    Conflicting reports

    From Airalo's Japan page and help center, and user reviews on esimdb, Oct 15, 2026.

  4. SailyEasiest app

    Plan10 GB, 30 dayson KDDI

    Price$17.99

    Per day$1.80

    Take it for the easiest install. One user reported a Hong Kong IP in Japan (August 2025), which blocked ChatGPT.

    Get Saily for Japan

    What you actually get with Saily network, hotspot, refunds
    Full speed per day
    All 10 GB at full speed. On the "unlimited" plan, 5 GB a day
    Hotspot
    Not stated by Saily
    Connection appears from
    Hong Kong one user report, Aug 2025. ChatGPT did not work for that user.
    If your trip changes
    Full refund within 30 days if the plan is not activated.
    Network
    KDDI (au)
    5G
    Not stated by Saily

    From Saily's plan list and terms, and one user review on esimdb, Oct 15, 2026.

  5. HolaflyBest unlimited

    PlanUnlimited, 10 dayson KDDI, SoftBank

    Price$36.50

    Per day$3.65

    Take it to stream without counting. Laptop sharing stops at 1 GB a day. Unused plans are refunded for 6 months.

    Get Holafly for Japan

    What you actually get with Holafly network, hotspot, refunds
    Full speed per day
    No published daily cap
    Hotspot
    1 GB a day
    Connection appears from
    Not stated by Holafly
    If your trip changes
    Refund to your card within 6 months, in full if never activated
    Network
    KDDI and SoftBank
    5G
    Where available

    From Holafly's Japan page and refund policy, Oct 15, 2026.

Prices checked Oct 15, 2026, in US dollars. The provider's checkout shows today's price before you pay.

How much data do you need in Japan?

About 10 GB covers two weeks of maps, LINE and Instagram. Hotels and many stations have free Wi-Fi, so the eSIM mostly works in the street and on the train. For your exact trip, try the data calculator.

Maps, train times and messages

about 0.2 GB a day

Plus Instagram and photo backups

about 0.5 to 1 GB a day

An hour of video calls home

about 1 GB

An hour of HD streaming

about 3 GB

Unlimited data eSIM for Japan

Most "unlimited" plans run at full speed for a set amount each day, then slow down until the next day. Here is what each one gives you, and whether you can share it with a laptop.

Unlimited plans for Japan: full speed a day, price for about two weeks, hotspot
PlanFull speed a dayAbout 2 weeksHotspot
Nomad2 GB$41.0014 daysAllowed
Airalo3 GBthen 1 Mbps$48.0015 daysNot stated
Saily5 GB$48.9915 daysFixed plans only, users report
HolaflyNo cap$50.5015 days1 GB a day

For 10 days the three biggest plans cost within $2 of each other ($34.50, $34.99, $36.50), so the daily amount decides. Holafly lets you stream on the train without a second thought.

Unlimited data and a laptop hotspot? Holafly shares only 1 GB a day. For laptop work, take a big fixed plan: Nomad's 50 GB for 30 days costs $35.00, allows hotspot and runs on KDDI. A laptop uses roughly 100 to 200 MB an hour for browsing and email, and about 1 GB for an hour of video calls.

Get Nomad 50 GB for Japan

Best eSIM for Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and beyond

All five plans use Docomo, KDDI or SoftBank, and all three cover the big cities well. Once you leave them, the network matters more than the price.

Signal along a typical first trip

Where each network is strongest. Before a remote stay, check the network's own coverage map.

  1. TokyoShinjuku, Shibuya, the airports

    Strong

  2. Rural Hokkaidoby car or local train

    Strong

  3. HakoneLake Ashi, the ropeway

    Strong

  4. Japanese AlpsTakayama, Kamikochi

    Good

  5. Kyototemples, Arashiyama

    Strong

  6. OsakaNamba, Kansai airport

    Strong

  7. Kumano Kodothe pilgrim trails

    Good

  8. Hiroshimaand Miyajima

    Strong

On Docomo: Ubigi.

Where your connection comes out

The country websites and apps think you are in. It matters for ChatGPT, banking apps and Japanese sites.

Ubigi reported by users

  1. You are inTokyo

  2. NetworkDocomo or KDDI

  3. The internet sees you inJapan

  4. What changesNothingApps behave as they do for anyone in Japan

Saily one user report, Aug 2025

  1. You are inTokyo

  2. NetworkKDDI (au)

  3. The internet sees you inHong Kong

  4. What changesChatGPT blockedIt isn't offered in Hong Kong

How to get an eSIM for Japan in 3 steps

Two steps at home, one when you land. About ten minutes in total.

  1. 1A week before, at home

    Check your phone takes an eSIM

    On an iPhone, open Settings > General > About. You need an EID, and Carrier Lock should say No SIM restrictions.

  2. 2The day before, on Wi-Fi

    Buy and install it at home

    Tap Install in the provider's app, or scan the QR code from a second screen. Most plans only start counting days in Japan.

  3. 3When you land

    Switch your data to the eSIM

    In Settings > Cellular, set Cellular Data to the eSIM and turn its Data Roaming on. Keep the US line on, with roaming off.

Turn off Data Roaming on your US line before you land. If it stays on, your carrier can start a $12 day pass the first time an app checks your email. On some carriers a call or a normal text sent from the US line starts it too, so text with iMessage or WhatsApp.

Every screen, one at a time: how to set up an eSIM on iPhone.

Before you go to Japan

  • Install LINE at home

    Most people in Japan message on LINE, and guesthouses will ask for yours. Sign in at home, where the code reaches you easily.

  • Add Suica to your Wallet

    Add a Suica card in Apple Wallet and top it up with Apple Pay. It pays for trains and convenience stores.

  • Check your phone is unlocked

    Phones on a monthly plan are often locked for a while. Ask your carrier a week before you fly.

  • Taxis run on the GO app

    Download GO for taxis in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto. It needs data, one more reason to land connected.

Japan eSIM with a phone number

The eSIMs on this page give you data only, with no Japanese number. Hotels, restaurants and friends reach you on LINE, WhatsApp or iMessage, and your US number still gets texts. If a booking insists on a Japanese number, give your hotel's.

Japan eSIM questions

Is an eSIM worth it for Japan?

Yes, for almost every trip. A 10 GB eSIM costs about $16.50 for the whole trip, while AT&T and Verizon charge $12 a day, so $120 for 10 days. You keep your US number for texts and there is no pocket wifi to pick up or return.

Which is better for Japan, Ubigi or Airalo?

Ubigi, for most trips. Its 10 GB plan costs about $16.50 for 30 days, against about $17.50 for 15 days at Airalo, and it uses Docomo and KDDI. Airalo is the better buy for a three to seven day trip, with 5 GB for 7 days at about $10.00. More in Saily vs Airalo.

Do I turn off my primary line when using eSIM?

No. Leave your US line on so calls, texts and two-factor codes still reach you, but turn its Data Roaming off. Set the travel eSIM as your Cellular Data line and turn Data Roaming on for that line only.

What is the downside of eSIM?

Most travel eSIMs are data only, so you get no Japanese phone number. Your phone must be unlocked and eSIM compatible, and some eSIMs send your traffic through another country, which can change how a few apps behave. The "what you actually get" sheet under each plan says where.

How much does an Ubigi eSIM cost in Japan?

On October 15, 2026, Ubigi charged $3.50 for 1 GB over 3 days, $16.50 for 10 GB over 30 days, $32.00 for 25 GB over 30 days, and $39.00 for 30 GB over 15 days.

Is Holafly really unlimited data?

Data is unlimited and Holafly publishes no daily full-speed cap for Japan. Sharing it as a hotspot with a laptop is limited to 1 GB a day, so for laptop work a big fixed plan like Nomad 50 GB fits better.

Casey Morrow

I find the best eSIM for where you're going, so you land with service and skip the day pass. Prices on this page are checked at least once a month.

About We Have Service and how I pick.